Our Team

The Critical Illness and Injury Research Centre bridges the gaps between basic science, translational research, clinical research and knowledge translation through the collaborative bench to bedside research of internationally renowned experts at St. Michael’s Hospital.

John Laffey
Co-Director, Critical Illness and Injury Research Centre

laffeyj@smh.ca
John W. Semple
Associate Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

SempleJ@smh.ca
Christer Sinderby
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

sinderby@rogers.com
Gregory D. Fairn
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

FairnG@smh.ca
Katalin Szaszi
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

SzasziK@smh.ca
Heyu Ni
Platform Director, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

NiH@smh.ca
Haibo Zhang
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

ZhangH@smh.ca
Duminda Wijeysundera
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

d.wijeysundera@utoronto.ca
Joao Rezende-Neto
Associate Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

RezendeNetoJ@smh.ca
Laurent J. Brochard
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

BrochardL@smh.ca
Jennifer Beck
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

jennifer.beck@rogers.com
Ron Wald
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

WaldR@smh.ca
Muhammad Mamdani
Director, Li Ka Shing Centre for Healthcare Analytics Research and Training (CHART)

MamdaniM@smh.ca
C. David Mazer
Associate Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

MazerD@smh.ca
Arthur S. Slutsky
Vice President, Research

SlutskyA@smh.ca
Alexander Romaschin
Associate Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

RomaschinA@smh.ca
David Klein
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

KleinD@smh.ca
Jane Batt
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

jane.batt@utoronto.ca
Sandro B. Rizoli
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

RizoliS@smh.ca
Warren Lee
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

warren.lee@utoronto.ca
Andras Kapus
Platform Director, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

KapusA@smh.ca
Ori Rotstein
Director, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

RotsteinO@smh.ca
Andrew Baker
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

bakera@smh.ca
Steve Lin
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

LinS@smh.ca
Gerard Curley
Associate Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

CurleyG@smh.ca
Claudia dos Santos
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

DossantosC@smh.ca
Laurie Morrison
Director, Rescu

morrisonl@smh.ca
John Marshall
Co-Director, Critical Illness and Injury Research Centre

marshallj@smh.ca
Orla Smith
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

SmithO@smh.ca
Gregory Hare
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

HareG@smh.ca
X