Our Team

The Critical Illness and Injury Research Centre bridges the gaps between basic science, translational research, clinical research and knowledge translation through the collaborative bench to bedside research of internationally renowned experts at St. Michael’s Hospital.

Alexander Romaschin
Associate Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

RomaschinA@smh.ca
Christer Sinderby
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

sinderby@rogers.com
Orla Smith
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

Smitho@smh.ca
Andrew Baker
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

bakera@smh.ca
Haibo Zhang
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

ZhangH@smh.ca
Ron Wald
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

WaldR@smh.ca
Gregory Hare
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

HareG@smh.ca
Andras Kapus
Platform Director, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

KapusA@smh.ca
Warren Lee
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

warren.lee@utoronto.ca
Muhammad Mamdani
Director, Li Ka Shing Centre for Healthcare Analytics Research and Training (CHART)

MamdaniM@smh.ca
Gregory D. Fairn
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

FairnG@smh.ca
John W. Semple
Associate Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

SempleJ@smh.ca
Jane Batt
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

jane.batt@utoronto.ca
John Laffey
Co-Director, Critical Illness and Injury Research Centre

laffeyj@smh.ca
Arthur S. Slutsky
Vice President, Research

SlutskyA@smh.ca
Joao Rezende-Neto
Associate Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

RezendeNetoJ@smh.ca
David Klein
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

kleind@smh.ca
Laurie Morrison
Director, Rescu

morrisonl@smh.ca
Steve Lin
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

lins@smh.ca
Heyu Ni
Platform Director, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

NiH@smh.ca
John Marshall
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

marshallj@smh.ca
Ori Rotstein
Director, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

RotsteinO@smh.ca
C. David Mazer
Associate Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

MazerD@smh.ca
Sandro B. Rizoli
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

RizoliS@smh.ca
Gerard Curley
Associate Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

curleyg@smh.ca
Laurent J. Brochard
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

BrochardL@smh.ca
Claudia dos Santos
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

DossantosC@smh.ca
Duminda Wijeysundera
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

d.wijeysundera@utoronto.ca
Katalin Szaszi
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

szaszik@smh.ca
Jennifer Beck
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

jennifer.beck@rogers.com