Our Team

The Critical Illness and Injury Research Centre bridges the gaps between basic science, translational research, clinical research and knowledge translation through the collaborative bench to bedside research of internationally renowned experts at St. Michael’s Hospital.

C. David Mazer
Associate Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

MazerD@smh.ca
Orla Smith
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

Smitho@smh.ca
Steve Lin
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

lins@smh.ca
Joao Rezende-Neto
Associate Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

RezendeNetoJ@smh.ca
Arthur S. Slutsky
Vice President, Research

SlutskyA@smh.ca
Heyu Ni
Platform Director, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

NiH@smh.ca
Alexander Romaschin
Associate Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

RomaschinA@smh.ca
John Laffey
Co-Director, Critical Illness and Injury Research Centre

laffeyj@smh.ca
Sandro B. Rizoli
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

RizoliS@smh.ca
Jennifer Beck
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

jennifer.beck@rogers.com
Ori Rotstein
Director, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

RotsteinO@smh.ca
Laurent J. Brochard
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

BrochardL@smh.ca
Gregory Hare
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

HareG@smh.ca
Jane Batt
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

jane.batt@utoronto.ca
John Marshall
Co-director, Critical Illness and Injury Research Centre

marshallj@smh.ca
Claudia dos Santos
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

DossantosC@smh.ca
Gregory D. Fairn
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

FairnG@smh.ca
John W. Semple
Associate Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

SempleJ@smh.ca
Laurie Morrison
Director, Rescu

morrisonl@smh.ca
Warren Lee
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

warren.lee@utoronto.ca
Christer Sinderby
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

sinderby@rogers.com
Muhammad Mamdani
Director, Li Ka Shing Centre for Healthcare Analytics Research and Training (CHART)

MamdaniM@smh.ca
Duminda Wijeysundera
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

d.wijeysundera@utoronto.ca
Andrew Baker
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

bakera@smh.ca
Ron Wald
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

WaldR@smh.ca
David Klein
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

kleind@smh.ca
Haibo Zhang
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

ZhangH@smh.ca
Katalin Szaszi
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

szaszik@smh.ca
Andras Kapus
Platform Director, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

KapusA@smh.ca
Gerard Curley
Associate Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

curleyg@smh.ca