Our Researchers

St Michael’s Hospital is home to clinicians and scientists focused on neuroscience research. This large interdisciplinary team spans the research themes of: strokesuicide and depressiontraumatic brain injury and neurodegenerative diseases.

St. Michael’s neuroscientists utilize the research platforms of neurobiology, neuroimaging, applied clinical research and knowledge translation, to unravel the mysteries of the brain and brain health.

Donna Ouchterlony
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

ouchterlonyd@smh.ca
David Munoz
Project Investigator, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

munozd@smh.ca
Michael Cusimano
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

mountain@smh.ca
Dalia Rotstein
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

RotsteinDa@smh.ca
Bruce Gray
Project Investigator, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

GRAYB@smh.ca
Neeru Gupta
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

GuptaN@smh.ca
Sidney Kennedy
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

KennedyS@smh.ca
Joseph Barfett
Project Investigator, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

BarfettJ@smh.ca
Sakina Rizvi
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

RizviSa@smh.ca
Xiao-Yan Wen
Director, Zebrafish Centre for Advanced Drug Discovery

WenX@smh.ca
Tom Schweizer
Director, Neuroscience Research Program

SchweizerT@smh.ca
Gustavo Saposnik
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

SaposnikG@smh.ca
Jane Topolovec-Vranic
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

Topolovec-vranicJ@smh.ca
Andrew Baker
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

bakera@smh.ca
Xavier Montalban
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

MontalbanX@smh.ca
R. Loch Macdonald
Associate Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

MacdonaldLo@smh.ca
Corinne E. Fischer
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

FischerC@smh.ca
Henry Ahn
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

richardske@smh.ca
Aditya Bharatha
Project Investigator, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

BharathaA@smh.ca
Gregory Hare
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

HareG@smh.ca
Tom Marotta
Project Investigator, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

MarottaT@smh.ca
Jiwon Oh
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

OhJiw@smh.ca
Howard Ginsberg
Associate Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

OhJiw@smh.ca
Sunit Das
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

sunit.das@utoronto.ca
Yeni Yücel
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

YucelY@smh.ca
Shane McInerney
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

mcinerneys@smh.ca
Walter Montanera
Project Investigator, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

MontaneraW@smh.ca
X