Our Researchers

St Michael’s Hospital is home to clinicians and scientists focused on neuroscience research. This large interdisciplinary team spans the research themes of: strokesuicide and depressiontraumatic brain injury and neurodegenerative diseases.

St. Michael’s neuroscientists utilize the research platforms of neurobiology, neuroimaging, applied clinical research and knowledge translation, to unravel the mysteries of the brain and brain health.

Sakina Rizvi
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

RizviSa@smh.ca
Tom Marotta
Project Investigator, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

MarottaT@smh.ca
Aditya Bharatha
Project Investigator, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

BharathaA@smh.ca
Donna Ouchterlony
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

ouchterlonyd@smh.ca
Jane Topolovec-Vranic
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

Topolovec-vranicJ@smh.ca
Sunit Das
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

sunit.das@utoronto.ca
Howard Ginsberg
Associate Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

sunit.das@utoronto.ca
Xiao-Yan Wen
Director, Zebrafish Centre for Advanced Drug Discovery

WenX@smh.ca
R. Loch Macdonald
Associate Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

MacdonaldLo@smh.ca
Dalia Rotstein
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

RotsteinDa@smh.ca
Sidney Kennedy
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

KennedyS@smh.ca
Bruce Gray
Project Investigator, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

GRAYB@smh.ca
Yeni Yücel
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

YucelY@smh.ca
Joseph Barfett
Project Investigator, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

BarfettJ@smh.ca
Tom Schweizer
Director, Neuroscience Research Program

SchweizerT@smh.ca
Neeru Gupta
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

GuptaN@smh.ca
David Munoz
Project Investigator, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

munozd@smh.ca
Gustavo Saposnik
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

SaposnikG@smh.ca
Corinne E. Fischer
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

FischerC@smh.ca
Walter Montanera
Project Investigator, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

MontaneraW@smh.ca
Gregory Hare
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

HareG@smh.ca
Michael Cusimano
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

mountain@smh.ca
Andrew Baker
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

bakera@smh.ca
Shane McInerney
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

mcinerneys@smh.ca
Jiwon Oh
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

OhJiw@smh.ca
Henry Ahn
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

richardske@smh.ca
X