Our Researchers

St Michael’s Hospital is home to clinicians and scientists focused on neuroscience research. This large interdisciplinary team spans the research themes of: strokesuicide and depressiontraumatic brain injury and neurodegenerative diseases.

St. Michael’s neuroscientists utilize the research platforms of neurobiology, neuroimaging, applied clinical research and knowledge translation, to unravel the mysteries of the brain and brain health.

David Munoz
Project Investigator, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

munozd@smh.ca
Dalia Rotstein
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

RotsteinDa@smh.ca
Sunit Das
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

sunit.das@utoronto.ca
Shane McInerney
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

mcinerneys@smh.ca
Joseph Barfett
Project Investigator, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

BarfettJ@smh.ca
Jane Topolovec-Vranic
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

Topolovec-vranicJ@smh.ca
Neeru Gupta
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

GuptaN@smh.ca
Donna Ouchterlony
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

ouchterlonyd@smh.ca
Gregory Hare
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

HareG@smh.ca
Yeni Yücel
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

YucelY@smh.ca
Bruce Gray
Project Investigator, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

GRAYB@smh.ca
Sidney Kennedy
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

KennedyS@smh.ca
Andrew Baker
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

bakera@smh.ca
Howard Ginsberg
Associate Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

bakera@smh.ca
Sakina Rizvi
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

RizviSa@smh.ca
R. Loch Macdonald
Associate Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

MacdonaldLo@smh.ca
Tom Marotta
Project Investigator, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

MarottaT@smh.ca
Michael Cusimano
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

mountain@smh.ca
Henry Ahn
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

richardske@smh.ca
Xiao-Yan Wen
Director, Zebrafish Centre for Advanced Drug Discovery

WenX@smh.ca
Gustavo Saposnik
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

SaposnikG@smh.ca
Jiwon Oh
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

OhJiw@smh.ca
Xavier Montalban
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

MontalbanX@smh.ca
Tom Schweizer
Director, Neuroscience Research Program

SchweizerT@smh.ca
Walter Montanera
Project Investigator, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

MontaneraW@smh.ca
Corinne E. Fischer
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

FischerC@smh.ca
Aditya Bharatha
Project Investigator, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

BharathaA@smh.ca
X