Our Researchers

St Michael’s Hospital is home to clinicians and scientists focused on neuroscience research. This large interdisciplinary team spans the research themes of: strokesuicide and depressiontraumatic brain injury and neurodegenerative diseases.

St. Michael’s neuroscientists utilize the research platforms of neurobiology, neuroimaging, applied clinical research and knowledge translation, to unravel the mysteries of the brain and brain health.

Aditya Bharatha
Project Investigator, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

BharathaA@smh.ca
Gustavo Saposnik
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

SaposnikG@smh.ca
Sakina Rizvi
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

RizviSa@smh.ca
Donna Ouchterlony
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

ouchterlonyd@smh.ca
Michael Cusimano
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

mountain@smh.ca
Neeru Gupta
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

GuptaN@smh.ca
Sunit Das
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

sunit.das@utoronto.ca
Andrew Baker
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

bakera@smh.ca
Walter Montanera
Project Investigator, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

MontaneraW@smh.ca
Shane McInerney
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

mcinerneys@smh.ca
Sidney Kennedy
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

KennedyS@smh.ca
Joseph Barfett
Project Investigator, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

BarfettJ@smh.ca
Tom Marotta
Project Investigator, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

MarottaT@smh.ca
Tom Schweizer
Director, Neuroscience Research Program

SchweizerT@smh.ca
Gregory Hare
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

HareG@smh.ca
Bruce Gray
Project Investigator, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

GRAYB@smh.ca
Yeni Yücel
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

YucelY@smh.ca
Dalia Rotstein
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

RotsteinDa@smh.ca
Jiwon Oh
Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

OhJiw@smh.ca
Corinne E. Fischer
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

FischerC@smh.ca
Henry Ahn
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

richardske@smh.ca
Howard Ginsberg
Associate Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

richardske@smh.ca
Xiao-Yan Wen
Director, Zebrafish Centre for Advanced Drug Discovery

WenX@smh.ca
R. Loch Macdonald
Associate Scientist, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

MacdonaldLo@smh.ca
David Munoz
Project Investigator, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

munozd@smh.ca
X