Our Scientists

Scientists working in association with the Centre for Urban Health Solutions are undertaking a wide range of research related to health and wellbeing. Many of us are working clinicians – health care providers who identify barriers facing patients, and who come back to our Centre to do the research needed to address these barriers. In addition, our scientists and staff have specialized training in areas such as clinical epidemiology, social epidemiology, health economics, biostatistics, geography, health services research, population health, program evaluation and knowledge translation.

Our Centre also works with two specialized units. The Well Living House is an action research centre for Indigenous infant, child and family health and wellbeing. The Survey Research Unit has the capacity to undertake large-scale qualitative and quantitative research in multiple languages and using a range of techniques.

Please note that the scientists are displayed below in a random order. To find a specific scientist please scroll down the list or use the search function on your browser.

Tara Kiran
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

Kirant@smh.ca
Jonathon Maguire
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

jonathon.maguire@utoronto.ca
Gillian Booth
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

boothg@smh.ca
Sharmistha Mishra
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

mishras@smh.ca
Michelle Firestone
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

firestonem@smh.ca
Morton Beiser
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

mail@mortonbeiser.com
Sean B. Rourke
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

sean.rourke@utoronto.ca
James Dunn
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

DunnJ@smh.ca
Ketan Shankardass
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

shankardassk@smh.ca
Rick Glazier
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

GLAZIERR@smh.ca
Anna Durbin
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

DurbinAn@smh.ca
Ann Burchell
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

burchella@smh.ca
Flora Matheson
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

mathesonf@smh.ca
Janet Smylie
Director, Well Living House

janet.smylie@utoronto.ca
Michael Sgro
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

SgroM@smh.ca
Ahmed M. Bayoumi
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

ahmed.bayoumi@utoronto.ca
Rosane Nisenbaum
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

nisenbaumr@smh.ca
Kamran Khan
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

KhanK@smh.ca
Darrell Tan
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

darrell.tan@gmail.com
Dan Werb
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

dwerb@ucsd.edu
D. Linn Holness
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

HolnessL@smh.ca
Aisha Lofters
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

aisha.lofters@utoronto.ca
Stephen Hwang
Director, Centre for Urban Health Solutions

HwangS@smh.ca
Nav Persaud
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

nav.persaud@utoronto.ca
Patricia O'Campo
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

O'CampoP@smh.ca
Vicky Stergiopoulos
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

StergiopoulosV@smh.ca
Andrew Pinto
Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

andrew.pinto@utoronto.ca