Membership & Terms of Reference

The Unity Health Toronto Ethics Board (REB) is appointed on behalf of Unity Health Toronto, with whom it maintains an arms-length relationship. The Terms of Reference for the REB define this relationship. Unity Health Toronto mandates the REB to independently approve, reject, propose modifications to, or terminate any proposed or ongoing research involving human participants or human materials conducted within or by members of Unity Health.

For more information, view the REB Terms of Reference.

Our Members

Open current membership list – revised 01 April 2021

  Dr. David Mazer, ChairAnesthesia (Scientific)Unity Health Toronto
  Dr. Michael Szego, Vice ChairClinical Ethics, Privacy (Scientific)Unity Health Toronto
  Dr. Melanie Tsang, Vice ChairGeneral Surgery (Scientific)Unity Health Toronto
Dr. Zoe Von Aesch, Vice ChairFamily and Community Medicine (Scientific)Unity Health Toronto
Dr. Kamran AhmadCardiology (Scientific)Unity Health Toronto
Dr. Paul AngaranCardiology (Scientific)Unity Health Toronto
Dr. Amit AtreyOrthopedic Surgery (Scientific)Unity Health Toronto
*Dr. Jane BattRespirology (Scientific)Unity Health Toronto
****Ms. Susan BeswickNursing (Scientific)Unity Health Toronto
**Mr. W A BogartCommunity Representative (Non-Scientific)Non-Affiliated
***Ms. Grace ChoiCommunity Lawyer (Non-Scientific)Non-Affiliated
**Mr. Christopher DewdneyCommunity Representative (Non-Scientific)Non-Affiliated
  Dr. Dale DottenHaematology (Scientific)Unity Health Toronto
Mr. Harry EnchinCommunity Representative (Non-Scientific)Non-Affiliated
***Mr. Michael Engelberg Community Lawyer (Non-Scientific)Non-Affiliated
  Mr. Malcolm EylottCommunity Representative (Non-Scientific)Non-Affiliated
Dr. Ralph GeorgeOncology (Scientific)Unity Health Toronto
Dr. John GrahamCardiology (Scientific)Unity Health Toronto
***Mr. Michel HélieCommunity Lawyer (Non-Scientific)Non-Affiliated
Dr. Stephen HwangInternal Medicine (Scientific)Unity Health Toronto
****Dr. Jennifer InnisNeuro Surgery/Trauma – Nursing (Scientific)Unity Health Toronto
Dr. Charles KassardjianNeurology (Scientific)Unity Health Toronto
  Dr. Jim KitchensInternal Medicine (Scientific)Unity Health Toronto
  Dr. Michael KutrykCardiology (Scientific)Unity Health Toronto
Dr. David LangloisClinical Ethics, Privacy (Scientific)Unity Health Toronto
  Dr. Elizabeth LeungClinical Pharmacy (Scientific)Unity Health Toronto
*Dr. Richard LeungRespirology (Scientific)Unity Health Toronto
  Dr. John MarshallCritical Care Medicine (Scientific)Unity Health Toronto
  Ms. Michele McCallCommunity Registered Dietitian (Scientific)Non-Affiliated
Dr. Leslie MelamedCommunity Scientist (Scientific)Non-Affiliated
  Dr. Gordon MoeCardiology (Scientific)Unity Health Toronto
  Dr. Melinda MusgravePlastic Surgery (Scientific)Unity Health Toronto
Dr. Dominic NgEndocrinology (Scientific)Unity Health Toronto
Dr. Arnold PinterCardiology (Scientific)Unity Health Toronto
  Dr. Ramesh PrasadNephrology (Scientific)Unity Health Toronto
  Dr. Brian SteinhartEmergency Medicine (Scientific)Unity Health Toronto
  Dr. William TuckerCommunity Neurosurgeon (Scientific)Non-Affiliated
  Dr. Andrew YanCardiology (Scientific)Unity Health Toronto
Dr. Arthur ZalevCommunity Radiologist (Scientific)Non-Affiliated
Non-Voting Members
  Ms. Sharon FreitagSenior Director, Research Ethics OfficeUnity Health Toronto
  Ms. Dharmista PatelAdministrative AssistantUnity Health Toronto
Ms. Andrea ChiuResearch Ethics CoordinatorUnity Health Toronto
Ms. Amanda (Mandy) HindleResearch Ethics CoordinatorUnity Health Toronto
Ms. Andrea LaarakkersResearch Ethics CoordinatorUnity Health Toronto
  Ms. Jenny LazarevskiResearch Ethics CoordinatorUnity Health Toronto
Ms. Arlene LobrinResearch Ethics CoordinatorUnity Health Toronto
  Mr. Jason McGuireResearch Ethics CoordinatorUnity Health Toronto
  Ms. Desta RamlackhansinghResearch Ethics CoordinatorUnity Health Toronto
  Mr. Tajinder (Pal) SallResearch Ethics CoordinatorUnity Health Toronto

Note: Chair and the Vice-Chair have the signing authority

* / ** / *** / ****} Alternating Members